Feb 062017
 

HB 1059 would allow a 12 month reprieve from the “levy cliff”.

If it passes, this would give legislators another year to figure out how to fully fund education without relying on levies. In 2010, school districts were given authority to temporarily increase property tax levies by 4%. That allowance will expire at the beginning of 2018, in the middle of the next school year. That would mean a loss of about $7.5M to Issaquah schools next year. The good news is that the House has already voted to pass HB 1059. However, the Senate has not yet voted and there are some Senators that are expected to vote against this bill. They are listed below along with contact information. If you have friends or family in their districts, please urge them to contact these legislators!


Sample Letter: 

Subject: Our students cannot learn without teachers in the classroom – please support HB 1059

I urge you to support HB 1059. Students are counting on you to keep teachers in classrooms next year. Our schools are trying to devise an operating budget for next year before April 1st. They are faced with the stress of uncertainty, and the possibility of having to RIF teachers. Levy dollars are voter approved. We cannot afford to lose teachers or funding in our schools. Thank you for taking care of our students by voting to pass HB 1059.

Hans Zeiger
25th LD: includes Puyallup, Fife
360 786-7648
hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov
John Braun
20th LD: includes Chehalis, Centralia, Castle Rock
360 786-7638
john.braun@leg.wa.gov
Joe Fain
47th LD: includes Auburn, Kent, Renton, Covington, Federal Way
360 786-7692
joe.fain@leg.wa.gov
Ann Rivers
18th LD: includes Vancouver, Ridgefield, Camas, Battle Ground, Washougal, La Center, Hockinson
360 786-7634
ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov
Mark Miloscia
30th LD: includes Algona, Auburn, Des Moines, Federal Way, Milton, Pacific
360 786-7658
mark.miloscia@leg.wa.gov
Jan Angel
26th LD: includes Bremerton, Port Orchard, Gig Harbor, Lakebay, Purdy
360 786-7650
jan.angel@leg.wa.gov
Dino Rossi
45th LD: includes Redmond, Kirkland, Sammamish, Woodinville, Duvall
360 786-7672
dino.rossi@leg.wa.gov
Maureen Walsh
16th LD: includes Walla Walla, Prosser, Horse Heaven
360 786-7630
maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov
Mark Schoesler
9th LD: includes Ritzville, Pullman, Colfax, St. John, Asotin
360 786-7620
mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov
Phil Fortunato
31st LD: includes Enumclaw, Buckley, Bonney Lake, Auburn, Sumner, Edgewood, South Prairie, Wilkeson and Carbonado
360 786-7660
phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov
Brad Hawkins
12th LD: includes Wenatchee, East Wenatchee, Twisp, Winthrop, Leavenworth
360 786-7622
brad.hawkins@leg.wa.gov
Randi Becker
2nd LD: includes Eatonville, Yelm, Orting, Graham, Roy, Rainier
360 786-7602 305
randi.becker@leg.wa.gov
Lynda Wilson
17th LD: includes Brush Prairie, Orchards, Cascade Park East (Clark County)
360 786-7632
lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov
Curtis King
14th LD: includes Stevenson, White Salmon, Naches, Goldendale, Tieton, Roosevelt
360 786-7626
curtis.king@leg.wa.gov
Barbara Bailey
10th LD: includes Stanwood, Camamo Island, Whidbey Island, Oak Harbor, La Connor
360 786-7618
barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

  No Responses to “HB 1059 – Delaying revisions to the school levy lid”