Jan 262017
 

Please read and CALL LEGISLATORS listed at the bottom of this email before 10AM tomorrow (Friday) morning!! We NEED the Senate to vote YES on House Bill 1059 to delay the levy cliff!

Issaquah schools stand to lose $7 million in funding next year if this bill does not pass!

Dear WPD Advocate,

We have an urgent opportunity to avoid teacher layoffs and program cuts that would undermine our children’s education — and we need you to make calls right now.

The State Senate will likely be voting on Friday morning at 10AM on an important procedural motion that, if adopted, would allow a vote on the bill to delay the levy cliff soon afterward. We need to flood Senate offices with calls urging them to bring this bill, HB 1059, to the floor and then to vote yes on it.

Need to find your Senator or their phone number? Click here and urge your Senator to immediately pass the bill to delay the levy cliff!

If you need a script: “Hello, I am your constituent from [name your city or town]. I need you to vote to bring HB 1059 to the floor and vote for the bill. We must delay the levy cliff so that teachers don’t get fired and students don’t lose important classes and programs they need to succeed. I know you have the power to save our schools from financial peril and I need you to lead on this.”

The bill to delay the levy cliff is an important part of fully funding our public schools. If this bill doesn’t pass, districts across the state will have to fire teachers and slash important programs for students. This is because school districts would lose part of their funds on January 1, 2018 — but the legislature does not have to deliver full funding for schools under the McCleary decision until September 1, 2018.

The levy cliff represents a big step backward in the state’s compliance with the constitution and the courts. Delaying the levy cliff for one more year allows our teachers to teach and our students to learn while the legislature finally passes the new revenue needed to fully fund public schools, as well as reducing districts’ reliance on levies to pay for basic education.

Call your Senator right now and urge them to immediately pass the bill to delay the levy cliff! Click here if you need to find your Senator or their phone number.

Below are some of the Senators who most urgently need to hear from the public. If even just one of them votes yes, the bill can pass and our schools will be saved from the levy cliff. If you or anyone you know lives in any of these legislative districts/areas, please ask them to call their Senator right now!

Hans Zeiger
25th LD: includes Puyallup, Fife
360 786-7648
hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov

John Braun
20th LD: includes Chehalis, Centralia, Castle Rock
360 786-7638
john.braun@leg.wa.gov

Joe Fain
47th LD: includes Auburn, Kent, Renton, Covington, Federal Way
360 786-7692
joe.fain@leg.wa.gov

Ann Rivers
18th LD: includes Vancouver, Ridgefield, Camas, Battle Ground, Washougal, La Center, Hockinson
360 786-7634
ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Mark Miloscia
30th LD: includes Algona, Auburn, Des Moines, Federal Way, Milton, Pacific
360 786-7658
mark.miloscia@leg.wa.gov

Jan Angel
26th LD: includes Bremerton, Port Orchard, Gig Harbor, Lakebay, Purdy
360 786-7650
jan.angel@leg.wa.gov

Dino Rossi
45th LD: includes Redmond, Kirkland, Sammamish, Woodinville, Duvall
360 786-7672
dino.rossi@leg.wa.gov

Maureen Walsh
16th LD: includes Walla Walla, Prosser, Horse Heaven
360 786-7630
maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov

Mark Schoesler
9th LD: includes Ritzville, Pullman, Colfax, St. John, Asotin
360 786-7620
mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov

Phil Fortunato
31st LD: includes Enumclaw, Buckley, Bonney Lake, Auburn, Sumner, Edgewood, South Prairie, Wilkeson and Carbonado
360 786-7660
phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov

Brad Hawkins
12th LD: includes Wenatchee, East Wenatchee, Twisp, Winthrop, Leavenworth
360 786-7622
brad.hawkins@leg.wa.gov

Randi Becker
2nd LD: includes Eatonville, Yelm, Orting, Graham, Roy, Rainier
360 786-7602 305
randi.becker@leg.wa.gov

Lynda Wilson
17th LD: includes Brush Prairie, Orchards, Cascade Park East (Clark County)
360 786-7632
lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Curtis King
14th LD: includes Stevenson, White Salmon, Naches, Goldendale, Tieton, Roosevelt
360 786-7626
curtis.king@leg.wa.gov

Barbara Bailey
10th LD: includes Stanwood, Camamo Island, Whidbey Island, Oak Harbor, La Connor
360 786-7618
barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

Thank you for taking a minute to call and contacting your friend, colleague, or relative out in these critical districts.

Your fellow advocate,
Tali

Tali Rausch
Board President
Washington’s Paramount Duty